Members of the Expert Committee

Acting Director of ATSAF Academy
Sarah Glatzle

Prof. Dr. Folkard Asch

Project management ATSAF Academy
Email: academy {at}

Strebelstr. 20
70599 Stuttgart
Tel: +49 711 47040789 Fax: +49 711 47040799

ATSAF board members
Folkard Asch
Prof. Dr.

Prof. Dr. Folkard Asch

Chairman of ATSAF e.V.
Email: atsaf {at}
University of Hohenheim
Institute of Agricultural Sciences in the Tropics (Hans-Ruthenberg-Institute) (490) Management of Crop Water Stress in the Tropics and Subtropics
Christian Hülsebusch

Dr. Christian Hülsebusch

Vice-Chairman of ATSAF e.V.
Email: huelse {at}
Representatives from giz
Till Rockenbauch

Jürgen Kroschel

Email: till.rockenbauch {at}

German Society for International Cooperation (giz)
Fund for the Promotion of Innovations in Agriculture (i4Ag)
Agricultural Policy and Innovation Fund (FABI)

Eschborn, Germany

Alexander Schöning

Fund International Agricultural Research (FIA)
Email: alexander.schoening {at}
Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)
Fonds Förderung Internationale Agrarforschung (FIA) Abteilung Ländliche Entwicklung und Agrarwirtschaft Bereich Sektor- und Globalvorhaben (GloBe)
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn
Representatives from CGIAR++
Holger Kirscht

Social Scientist / Gender Expert
ICIPE –  International Center of Insect Physiology and Ecology,
Social Science and Impact Assessment (SSIA) Unit
Nairobi, Kenya
Thai Thi Minh

Senior Researcher – Innovation Scaling
IWMI – International Water Management Institute
Email: t.minh {at}
Innovation Scaling
Accra, Ghana
Thomas Falk

Senior Economist
ICRISAT – International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics
Email: t.falk {at}
Innovation Systems for the Drylands Program Patancheru/India

Barbara Rischkowsky

Dr. Barbara Rischkowsky

Senior Livestock Scientist
ICARDA – International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas
Email: b.rischkowsky {at}
Resilient Agro-silvo-pastoral Systems
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Nils Teufel

Dr. Nils Teufel

Senior Agricultural Economist
ILRI – International Livestock Research Institute
Farming systems and impact assessment.
Policies, Institutions and Livelihoods (PIL) program
Nairobi, Kenya
Hannes Karwat

Dr. Hannes Karwat

Postdoctoral Fellow – Nitrogen Use Efficiency
CIMMYT – The International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
Global Wheat Program and the Sustainable Intensification Program
on strategies to improve nitrogen use efficiency in the smallholder wheat-based systems of the Global South
Mexico City, Mexico
Professors from German Universities
Mathias Becker
Prof. Dr.

University of Bonn
Email: mathias.becker {at}
Institute of Crop Science and Resource Conservation
Plant Nutrition in the Tropics and Subtropics
Mizeck Chagunda
Prof. Dr.

University of Hohenheim
Email: mizeck.chagunda {at}
Institute of Agricultural Sciences in the Tropics (Hans-Ruthenberg-Institute) (490) 
Department of Animal Breeding and Husbandry in the Tropics and Subtropics
Anja Faße
Prof. Dr.
Prof. Dr. Anja Fasse Technical University Munich
Email: anja.fasse {at}
Environmental and Development Economics
TUM Campus Straubing for Biotechnology and Sustainability
Christoph Gornott
Prof. Dr.

University of Kassel
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)
Email: gornott {at}
Department of Agroecosystem Analysis and Modelling
Faculty of Organic Agricultural Sciences
Working Group: Adaptation in Agricultural Systems
Climate Resilience – Climate Impacts and Adaptation
Ulrike Grote
Prof. Dr.
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Grothe Leibniz University Hannover
grote {at}
Institute for Environmental Economics and World Trade
Eike Lüdeling
Prof. Dr.

Prof. Dr. Eike Lüdeling

University of Bonn
Email: luedeling {at}
Institute of Crop Science and Resource Conservation
Horticultural Sciences